UJFT Biennial Meeting sees leadership transition to John Strelitz

by | Jun 23, 2017 | Featured

The 2017 Biennial Meeting of the United Jewish Federation of Tidewater was held June 7 in the Fleder Multipurpose Room on The Reba and Sam Sandler Family Campus.

The community was invited, and leaders from temples and synagogues, other Jewish agencies, and the UJFT board of directors attended. The evening saw Jay Klebanoff, outgoing president, install John Strelitz as president, with a vote of acclamation.

In his remarks, Klebanoff reflected on his two years fondly and with earnest. During his tenure, he oversaw the merger of the Simon Family JCC with the Federation in order to streamline the two agencies by combining management. Klebanoff also helmed the move of Jewish Family Service to the Sandler Family Campus, as well as the sale of their building on Grayson Road. Other accomplishments include the renovation of the JCC fitness center and increased inter-agency collaboration.

John Strelitz spoke to his family’s legacy of giving, community leadership, and commitment to Israel. Attendees were inspired by Strelitz’s vision for the Federation’s future and the passion with which he accepted his role. They were thrilled to hear of his emphasis on innovation for increased fundraising, securing the health and welfare of the agencies, and developing new, young, and inspired leadership. During the next two years, Strelitz plans to focus his efforts on ensuring a smooth transition to a new CEO with Executive Vice President Harry Graber’s retirement.

Jay Klebanoff recognized the outgoing chairs of several committees. Committee chairs honored during the evening were: Wendy Juren Auerbach of the Holocaust Commission, Karen Jaffe for her work with the Annual Campaign, Barbara Parks of the Israel & Overseas Committee, Megan Zuckerman of the Community Relations Council, Stephanie Calliott of the Women’s Cabinet, and Steven Gordon of the Finance Committee.

Additional awards were presented to community leaders for their work with UJFT and the Tidewater Jewish community. Marcia Hofheimer presented the Leonard R. Strelitz Young Leadership Award to Steven Zuckerman. John Strelitz presented the Joseph H. Strelitz Community Service Award to Ann and Bobby Copeland, and Harry Graber presented the Jewish Communal Professional Award to Rabbi Gershon Litt.