Ohef Sholom Temple celebrates 175 years with Gala

by | Dec 6, 2019 | Other News

Ohef Sholom Temple presidents behind the cake marking the congregation’s 175 years: Terri Budman, Bob Rubin, Karen Fine, Steve Kayer, Eddie Kramer, Linda Spindel, Charlie Nusbaum, Kurt Rosenbach, Minette Copper, Linda Fox-Jarvis, Alan Stein, Rob Goodman, Bill Nusbaum, and Kim Simon Fink.

Nearly 300 people arrived at Ohef Sholom Temple on Saturday, November 16 for the Temple’s 175th Anniversary Gala.

The evening was beyond expectations, and really offered something for everyone: a jazz quartet to start the party, a dance band, and a piano bar where spontaneous singing took place. Hors d’oeuvres were passed early in the evening and a Middle-Eastern buffet was enjoyed for dinner. dessert was a seven-foot cake that included a timeline of Ohef Sholom’s history and images of 54 of the temple’s presidents.

The library held four screens that featured past Ohef Sholom parties, Purimsphiels, archival images, and the recent WOOSH videos…We Of Ohef Sholom, in which members shared snippets of their Ohef Sholom stories.

A brief program included a presentation by Congresswoman Elaine Luria, an Ohef Sholom congregant. The Honorable Kenneth Alexander, Mayor, City of Norfolk, and Norfolk City Councilwomen Andria McClellan and Courtney doyle, also attended. during the program, Rabbi Rosalin Mandleberg was celebrated for her 15 years with the congregation. A particularly special moment was when Rabbi Roz, Cantor Jennifer Rueben, Rabbi Lawrence Forman, and Cantor Jennifer Bern-Vogel (a surprise guest), led the Shehecheyanu and other blessings.

Private labeled wine, commemorative buttons, an ice sculpture, and a special place to take photographs, all combined to create a memorable evening for the congregation.

Chaired by Susan and Alex Pincus, the committee worked for more than a year—concepting and implementing the night. Kim Simon Fink and Terri Budman served as co-chairs of the 100th Anniversary of the Sanctuary and the 175th Anniversary of the Temple celebrations, which began in October 2018.

Rabbi Roz Mandelberg, Rabbi Lawrence Forman, Cantor Jen Rueben, and Cantor Jennifer Bern-Vogel.

Cantor Jen Rueben, Congresswoman Elaine Luria, and Rabbi Roz Mandelberg.