Beth Sholom Village honors volunteers

by | May 4, 2012 | Other News

Beth Sholom Village honored its volunteers at a Recognition Luncheon on Thursday, April 26. More than 60 guests enjoyed a delicious lunch catered by The Village Caterers.
David Abraham, executive vice president, and Neil Friedman, board president, thanked the volunteers for all they do to assist the residents and staff. Leslie Legum, director of community relations, presented certificates, pins, and the Volunteer of the Year Award.

“We had a new category this year,” says Legum. “I wanted to see if anyone had done the equivalent of an hour a day or 365 hours in the year. To my surprise there were three: Janet Bauer, Dorothy Maddox and Gloria Polay.”

After the certificates in that category were presented, Legum presented pins to the following people:

100 hours – Diane Carrone, Ethel- Raye Greenspan, Gail Juren, Diana Naviglia, Nicole Russo;
250 hours—Joanne Klein, Paula K. Levy, Irene Ullman, Sandra Wills;
500 hours—Leona Roberts;
1,000 hours— Millie Cohen, Dorothy Maddox, Eleanor Lenox;
2,000 hours—Ruth Goldberg;
4,000 hours—Janet Bauer, Gloria Polay;
9,000 hours—Ingrid Silverman.

The Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Millie Cohen.

All volunteers also received thank you gifts. For information on becoming a volunteer at The Village, call Leslie Legum at 420-2512 or email her at